Another Horse Event~ Polo Anyone?

I thought I was done with horse events… well I completely forgot about POLO! Hopefully I will get a chance to see a match soon, so I can take some awesome pictures and share them with you.

The Villages built a state-of-the art polo stadium, which includes three fields and an exercise track, 15 paddocks and team locker rooms. They have been actively involved in Polo over the last 10 years. These matches can bring in more than 30,000 spectators a year.  Even the Duchess of York, Sarah Ferguson, came to watch the event in 2009. 

Polo ponies usually start their training at the age of three, and are taught anywhere from 6 months to 2 years.

Each player must have more than one pony, so tired mounts can be exchanged for fresh mounts between or even during periods, called chukkers, chuckers or chukkas. A player’s “string” of polo ponies may number 2 or 3 in Low Goal matches (with ponies being rested for at least a chukker before reuse), 4 or more for Medium Goal matches (at least one per chukker), and even more for the highest levels of competition.

I had to look this information up, because I certainly had no idea what chuckers are.

Directions From Ocala: Take 441 to 466 go west 5 miles to Buena Vista Blvd and turn right. The Polo Club is .5 miles on the right.

The Villages Polo Club
703 N Buena Vista Blvd
The Villages, FL 32162
Phone: (352) 750-POLO

Games will continue until May 27th, on the following days:
Fridays- 3:00 PM and 5:00 PM,  Sundays- 12:00 PM and 2:00 PM

Schedule is subject to change, so call for last minute updates.

Looking to purchase a home… I can sell any home in Marion County…

Call me today for more information regarding all your Real Estate needs.

Teresa Fikaris, (Realtor) Buyer’s Agent

Fontana Realty

Cell: 352-208-5874

Website click here Visit me on Facebook click here

Going the extra mile with a smile!

2 responses to “Another Horse Event~ Polo Anyone?

  1. Very Interesting Up-Coming Event. I didn’t realized Florida had a Professional Field & Facility to sponsor an Event such as this and to have it so close to Ocala. I’ll be looking forward to your Cover Story & Pictures. You do such a great job!

  2. I am going to try to go this Friday (or the next)…. I wish you were off, and could go with me. You are great to be with…. I really enjoyed the Car Show with you. Thanks for your kind words… I hope I will be close enough to get some good pictures…. We will see!

Leave a Reply

